THE STORY OF CORY

strsshootandy

andyseales80211

October 10, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Adams County Colorado-Your home on the internet
I joined Yahoo at the tender age of 13.What drew me to Yahoo was an internet group called CorysHouse.Students at Thornton High School and Westy(Westminster High) were drawn to the group because of homework help,epals,and a peer mentoring project.
Towards the end of 2003,Troy Bishop was looking for moderators in his 63 Colorado County network.I volunteered to help out.My first objective was to change the group logo.We sponsored a contest with Westminster,Thornton,and Adams City High Schools.Rusty Vargas from Westy won.At that time Yahoo groups had active chatrooms.From that we built a strong sense of community.What struck the members and observers of our group is how we balanced the colors of the high schools.
We networked with each other.We organized food and clothing drives and with Bryan Edison of Colorado Experience,we had looked forward to our holiday meep-ups.With CorysHouse we pioneered a county wide amber alert,neighborhood watch and safety,assistance to Hurricane victims in Kansas,Missouri,Hurricanes Sandy and Katrina.
Our Town Hall meet-ups offered voter information.What was great about Colorado groups is the degree of connectivity we had.
I heard about the NEO roll-out first at CorysHouse.It hit them the hardest.They were in the middle of their 15th year anniversary. Justin and Adrian Palacios and the other moderator were spared the Neo-zone until late August.(Adrian Smith still has the classic format) Then my membership en masse sent emails.It seemed as if five members a day were hit with neo.
There was a scramble to figure what this was all about.We got no answers from Yahoo.
Then the neo storm hit.Bryan Edison of Colorado Experience had me scheduled to launch our county by county showcase. When I logoned to the groups my first thought was:Oh no a computer virus or page high jack.Then I looked at the address bar—neo groups—So this is what is was all about? Hmmm.I noticed that my groups were listed out of order.But I had an appointment at Bryans group.I posted a message and got an error message.First the first time in 10 years I could not use a group.
Down the scrambled list of groups I noticed AdamsCountyColorado listed 15th.
Do you know what it’s like to have a fist in your gut? Our color scheme that reflected unity was replaced by a white interface.Our logo was gone.I sat at my monitor.I desperately tried to find reason behind this.As I noticed the membership tally had dropped and the replaced logo,I knew for the first time in my life the pain of loss.I sat at my monitor and a tear became of flood of tears.What we built was destroyed.What we loved was killed.
Yeah it hurt.I’ve never know what kind of helplessness and hurt until I got an official email from CorysHouse of a mandatory vote.The vote was whether CorysHouse would continue or to pull the plug.Then I thought of the stories of the founder of the group,Cory Adam.
Theres a reason why you still see groups dedicated to him.
Theres a reason why several young people are alive today its because of the home he built for suicide prevention.I voted no.It was easy for me to vote no.I had no idea of what it took to manage a group with 19,000 members and a network behind it.
I asked Justin Tyler to hold on.Lets see if we could urge Yahoo to roll back NEO.They waited and waited.The bleeding began when other groups fell one by one.If you ever find the time look at what our groups were at the internet archive wayback machine.
For me,I’ve learned how to deal with loss and pain.I am here to see that fairness and conscience is returned to Yahoo.I am here to help the elderly and handicapped restore their Classic groups.Brenda has inspired a new generation of teens that have the fire she has.They admire that.Adrian Smith was nine years old when he joined CorysHouse in 1998.He says that Brenda the Owl is just like Cory
Our gift to you is friendship.In this mess is one good thing,we’ve met in a storm of night.Our guidance is providence that leads us to the light of a better day
The kids have a gift for Brenda
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/owlsy
(The above link was a cute group that the kids created for me on Yahoo, that has since been deleted. They had all written thank you’s and encouraging posts in the group for me – Brenda)

4 thoughts on “THE STORY OF CORY

  1. I am curious to find out what blog system you happen to be using?
    I’m having some minor security problems with my latest website and
    I would like to find something more risk-free.

    Do you have any solutions?

  2. Hello just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

Leave a Reply

