The Importance of Support Groups

Owl Group 3c

This is a very well written description of what our group means to the members.  . . . The original message was much longer, about a specific but heartbreakingly familiar personal history.  . . . She gave me permission to share it all.  But . . . I think these first two paragraphs, and some of her last paragraph, show what I have been trying to convey.

Date: 01 Oct 2013 05:31:43 -0700

I’ve been a bit of a lurker since I joined a few months back, and have been reading your posts. Much of what I’ve read is all too familiar. Many things I’ve read that you all are going through have brought me to tears out of a place of familiarity. Sometimes when I read your posts, I am relieved in a strange way, to have found others who know exactly how it feels. On the other hand it also sickens and depresses me that so many of us are literally suffering through the cruelty inflicted upon us by the very people who are supposed to love us most, and love us unconditionally.

At this point I’m feeling brave enough to step out and introduce myself, and give a little background info about my life. Before I do that, I just wanted to thank you all for being so brave, brave enough to share what you are dealing with. I realize that many of you are writing for help, and to vent, but even in your own reaching out, I have read many things that have made me feel better just in sharing the same feelings or finally feeling like I’m not alone. I hate that I am not the only one dealing with this sort of thing, because it means all of you are, or have been, suffering as well. But I guess if the suffering must be there, at least those of us dealing with the same issues have this group  where we can find comfort from each other. So Thanks.   🙂

And from another post by the same member:

I, too, despise the new yahoo groups. I hate the message format, the groups being in tabs, hate that messages and replies aren’t together. I signed the petition you posted, and did a grump on yahoo’s site about it. I guess we’ll see if any of it helps. There has got to be a better alternative out there.

Donna D.

Leave a Reply

