NEO is Throwing a Wrench at the French

Owl Angry

YAHOO FRENCH GROUPS EXPERIENCE
SEVERE DATABASE CHARACTER PROBLEM;
READ EXCHANGE WITH DEBORAH
ON MODS AND MEMBERS YAHOO GROUP

Message# 9540
[Deborah addresses a member in our group]

Sun, 26 Jan 2014 14:03:09 -0800
From: deborah75001@yahoo.fr
Subject: modsandmembers] RE: question about database feature
To: modsandmembers@yahoogroups.com

Donna,

Databases are SO useful
you can name columns for whatever ideas of information you want to be shared and ordered (alphabetically or according to ZIP code or whatever)

it can be an adress book of members, of institutions, of professionals.

in the former databases, you could order them according to whichever column (first name, last name, adresses, zipcodes or whatever other parameters, you could search them, it was so usefull)

I used to have many databases on differents forums, all with hundreds of entries, and used to be able to retrieve information REALLY quickly

also members would update the databases and add new entries so if one new family needed a professional in their area, we could find an adress for them according to zip code and city, it was so convenient now nothing of this is functionning, the common work of TEN YEARS is ruined overnight !

Deborah
******************************

Message #9542
[Deborah addresses Shal]

Dear Shal,

Thanks for being so knowledgeable !

From what I understand, it means I could create a new database that would work with French accented characters, and even could be saved and modified, but have to relinquish the old ones to hover around with all the rubbish characters ? (they cannot be deleted either) ?

As for getting yahoo to investigate the matter, I have posted and written in ALL POSSIBLE ways, they dont listen and DONT answer (arggggg)

Only solution: start the databases all over again, but in some groups this was the result of 10 YEARS of collective knowledge, so I cannot even image transposing all the hundreds of data into a new database…

by the way the accented characters turned into diamonds also affects the LINKS section.
However there, one can erase the circles and diamonds. One cannot insert accented

characters though, but it is possible to save the description of the links using other non accented characters, so at least is become readable (at least)

I AM SO MAD AT YAHOO FOR MESSING UP YEARS OF WORK AND SHARED KNOWLEDGE IN MY GROUPS /

Deborah
******************************

Message #9544
[Shal addresses Deborah]

Deborah,

Deborah wrote:>>From what I understand, it means I could create a new database that would work with French accented characters, and even could be saved and  modified, but have to relinquish the old ones to hover around with all  the rubbish characters ? (they cannot be deleted either) ?<<

Shal wrote: I don’t know if the situation with the existing databases is as bleak as that, but maybe. I confess I haven’t done anything but a few tests with the Databases in Neo so I’m not certain about unusual cases.

Deborah wrote:>>As for getting yahoo to investigate the matter, I have posted and  written in ALL POSSIBLE ways, they dont listen and DONT answer <<

Shal wrote: I haven’t found that to be the case. I’ve had reasonable success in contacting Customer Care and getting them to fix or escalate problems. Not all of my reports have resulted in the problem getting fixed, but at least I’m confident I got them to see the evidence.

I don’t know though if the situation with Customer Care would be different starting from the fr.groups.yahoo.com help pages. The “Contacter le Service clientèle” page is a slightly older style there. Try:

produit: Groupes
catégorie: Erreur
sous-catégorie: problème d’accès à mon groupe
Comment: Les caractères accentués ne s’affichent pas correctement dans la base de données
(pardon my Google-translated French)

Click the blue Entrer button then at the bottom of the page you should get the link to Email a Support Agent. Make that “Écrivez à un agent du support technique”. Click that then fill out the detailed form.

Within minutes to hours you should get an automated acknowledgement. Then within a day or two you should get an response from Customer Care. This begins the “lather, rinse, repeat” process – always reply to their responses. Answer whatever questions they ask, follow

even the pointless instructions to clean up your browser, and tell them as clearly as you can why their response didn’t solve your problem. Keep after them until they either resolve it or escalate it. Then keep after them for the status of your problem.

Deborah wrote:>>by the way the accented characters turned into diamonds also affects the
LINKS section. However there, one can erase the circles and diamonds. One cannot insert
accented characters though, but it is possible to save the description of the links using other non accented characters, so at least is become readable (at least)<<

Shal wrote:>> Alas, the Links section is another that I rarely use. So all I can do is sympathize. I would report the problem in that section separately to Customer Care. Even though it is likely a related problem behind the scenes, the Customer Care agents won’t really know that. It pays to keep your reports to them as focused on a single topic as possible.

— Shal
******************************

Message #9549
[Deborah addresses Shal]

Shal

I HAVE contacted the french language customers care numerous times.

-They have answered with a cut and past of the help section (not a help at all of course),
-then denied the problem
-then asked for more info, I sent them screen copies (such as I have posted elsewhere and one can CLEARLY see that the databases are unreadable)
-Then they have said they would “investigate”
-then they said they dont see a problem (there is a HUGE problem in ALL french groups, throughout, not just mine)
-Then finally they answered this is not something they can do anything about

NO RESULT as you can see, they dont want to bother.

I have told them NUMEROUS times to forward this to the US INGENEERS that work on the system but I dont believe they ever did. THey are just there to answer complaints in order to silence them, not to DO ANYTHING actively about the problems.

The problems in the databases are INDEED exactly what I have describe, no less.
They cannot be fixed in any way as of now.
Perhaps I can open a new database but I will lose 10 YEARS of input by members
trying to replicate the data in a new database would take MONThs of work

The databases can no longer be modified, nothing can be added, nothing cut out, no changes can be entered, I am trying this almost daily. I click on “modify the database,” i type something, then “save” but it says “loading” and then freezes on this word. Whatever database I try this with (on my forums, on other forums) IT ALWAYS FREEZES and NO CHANGE can be done.

This is all the truth, I have been managing groups for 10 years and I know the funtions well. It just WONT WORK any more

Deborah
******************************

Message #9550
[Deborah addresses me]

Thanks Nightowl

I have followed everything you have been doing and your blog. You can surely forward my message to anybody who would like to document tne problems

There is virtually nobody among the many groups in France who can write about this in English, but all moderators of 20+ groups I am a member or moderator of, are impacted and I can say all French language groups have suffered tremendously with the loss of accented characters and the transformation into rows of weird signs.

Yahoo doesnt address the topic, I wrote numerous emails to the technical and client service
they either answer with a mere cut and paste or deny there is a problem.

It doesnt really look like they would be interested in fixing the problem

yours
Deborah
******************************

Message #9554
[Deborah addresses Shal]

Dear Shal,

of course I have contacted the US customer care as well, and numerous times, written on all kind of forums etc.

They claim that they cannot reproduce the problem I have, that they dont have if (probably because they dont have age old databases with special characters in them and you have shown that if ones opens a new database, then there is no problem)

Anywhere they dont answer or dont do anything.
US customers care also tell me to go to French customer care (of course!)
I have even tried the Canadian one.
If I write in english, they tell me they have nothing to do about it.
IF I write in French they cannot do anything about it
TO NO AVAIL
Nobody cares about the fact that thousands of yahoo customers in Europe are affected.
I have seen Spanish posters complaining about the same situation.
But who listens ? Americans probably think Europe is a lesser place not to care about …

Deborah
******************************

Message #9556
[I address Deborah]

deborah wrote:>>Nobody cares about the fact that thousands of yahoo  customers in Europe are affected. I have seen Spanish posters  complaining about the same situation. But who listens ? Americans  probably think Europe is a lesser place not to care about …<<

Deborah, it doesn’t have a thing to do with Europe. Yahoo has paid us no  attention either, and things for us have been broken for going on 5  months. So please don’t think you aren’t getting help because you aren’t  Amerian. Us Americans are being ignored as equally as anyone overseas.

Don’t worry and don’t delete the databases yet. Hang on a little longer  while I try to bring this problem to the light and sight of the public  eye. I sent several of your posts to our reporter last night, and both  he AND I DO care.

Brenda
******************************

So, Yahoo, are you going to continue to destroy years and years of work people have done in Classic Groups? Are you seriously so heartless that you can’t see what you are doing and the damage you are causing people?

I state it again. Stop NEO now. Roll it back, put it in Beta, and give us Classic back. It’s getting closer and closer to the point of no return because many of the users leaving won’t return. They are done.

Nightowl >8#

Leave a Reply

