Truncated Messages in Archives

truncowl

Note: This was written by a concerned owner who gave permission for it to be shared.

Hi, Everyone,

I’ve been a follower of this blog for some time. I struggled with whether or not to write this post, but I finally feel I should.  I’m writing today because there is an issue that needs everyone’s attention: Posts Getting Truncated in the Archives.

I’m an owner of a small role-playing group that is basically a writing group, and ever since Neo appeared, posts in the archives have been truncated at 64kb. Now, I’ll be honest, when Neo first appeared I didn’t like it, but I could deal with it, assuming they put the archives table back, which they did. I could deal with it mostly because now that Yahoo Groups has the same software as Google Drive, when another member and I post writings from our Google Drive accounts, the posts aren’t filled with a bunch of symbols and characters make them hard to read, especially posts in the archives. This was a huge improvement after years of dealing with this problem.

However, little did I know. Some months later I was archive-diving, checking my facts for something I was writing (something I do at least once a month, if not more) and I came across this post from 2011 that said “Message over 64KB, truncated.” I thought, what the hell is that? Why? Because I’ve looked at this particular post before in the archives, and I was also the sender. If any post got truncated in 2011 when I was the sender, I would have resent it in parts. I always check and make sure my posts come through alright since Groups is known for sometimes eating posts or not sending the entire thing through or any number of other things. This post was not truncated in 2011, so why is it now? Because of Neo; that’s why.

I can deal with a lot. I even stayed silent when I found ads overtaking a post in the archives, making it impossible to read, because I knew Yahoo would probably get around to fixing it. But this? Truncating my group’s members’ work and mine? All bets are off. I started e-mailing Brenda; I started directing people to the issue on the Feedback Forum — everything I could think of. Except Yahoo closed the issue with this BS about it being fixed, when they didn’t even address the right issue when they closed it.

I thought, okay, what crap, but there are still two topics open about this problem. I’ll just work with those now, and they were getting up in votes, too, but then Yahoo deleted those. Yep, the dreaded problem you guys have talked about here. It forced someone to repost the issue. And now that topic is ranked 52.

Some of you might be wondering why I didn’t catch this problem sooner, especially as I was saying Neo wasn’t that bad. Well, because a lot of my group’s postings don’t go over said limit. Only a small portion are ever that long, so even if I archived constantly, I obviously never came across a posting that had that note at the bottom of it sooner. I’m saddened I didn’t because I would have been bitching sooner, but I’m not the only one with this problem. If you go on Yahoo Answers, a lot of the people complaining are people with writing groups. And even worse? The problems are with postings from years ago. Of course it happens now, too, so I have to go through every post we send now and make sure the writing doesn’t get cut off; it is extra work for me, but I can deal with it. What I find really hard to swallow, however, is posts from years ago now being truncated. Yahoo would say two things:

  1. To just have the sender resend it. My group is coming upon its 11th year. The likelihood of any one member still having a post from, say, 2005 in their inboxes is remote.
  2. (and the one that REALLY gets me) The limit is 15MB, so this shouldn’t be happening. It is happening, gosh darnit!

In short, this is a huge problem. It makes the archives useless. It is unacceptable. And it hurts, as a writer. So I ask for your help for my group and for every other one that is having this problem: If you have come across this issue in your own group, can you please vote and/or comment on the one topic that is still open about this issue on the Forums? I am not the author, but I agree wholeheartedly. This needs to be fixed. It is wrong on so many levels, and I am tired of Yahoo pretending it is fixed or easily remedied. Neither is true.

You can comment on the closed one; it does have the most comments. Despite the fact that it’s supposed to be closed to voting, I see today that it’s gone up from 16 to 11 rank-wise. I don’t understand that at all, but here is the link for that.

And here is the link for the one that is still open for voting.

I thank you for your support.

A Concerned Yahoo Groups Owner

Leave a Reply

